Read about the author and her bookish adventures!

Author: CatrinRussell (Page 1 of 5)

Cover reveal: The Redeemed!

Cover reveal for The Redeemed, a prequel of The Prime Series!

Blurb:

Outlaw. Thug. Enforcer. Assassin.

Many titles have been granted to Edric’s name throughout the years, more so than he’d care to admit.

Sold as a child to Raven, a cold-blooded mercenary, he’s been long since forsaken by both kin and comrades. A life by the sharp end of a knife is all that remains to him now, as part of the infamous thieves’ band – the Haunted Shadows.

With blood, terror, and death part of the band’s dishonourable trade, Edric is sent to plunder and kill, to satisfy Raven’s innate greed. He scours the capital of the Midlands for valuables, earning his daily keep, yet nothing he manages to bring is ever enough for the ruthless leader.

Raven wants more and forces his crew into an unforeseen direction, striking out against creatures more terrifying than death itself. Men are rattled to the core, and Edric’s fight for survival is wearing thin.

As he clings to life, he wonders how he is meant to go on? And, most of all, will it be worth the effort, to press on and endure? With darkness waiting to claim him, sorrow and despair are all Edric has left. For he seems to have been abandoned by the Goddess Herself.

Note: The Prime Series contains subjects and scenes that depict violence, torture, consequences of prolonged sexual abuse, emotional scars and suffering, as well as mature language and steamy scenes. It is therefore intended for a mature audience.

The Prime Series is perfect for readers who enjoy High and Epic Fantasy with dark undertones.

Book Review: And They Were Never Heard From Again

🌑 And They Were Never Heard From Again by Benedict Patrick

🌑 My rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A grim and dark folklore story, the cautionary tale And They Were Never Heard From Again tells the adventure of young Felton and his even younger brother Tad, as the two of them set off for a nearby village. The problem arises as they venture back through the forest, and they find themselves too late – the bell tolls in the distance, and they are locked outside with the monsters of the night.

Their only hope for salvation lies with the Magpie King, and the boys pray he hears their pleas. Otherwise, they will not survive the night.

“A story is a dangerous thing, Felton Herder. We must value them, we must be careful with them. Set one loose on the world, and you lose all control over your own creation.”

This is an excellent short story, gripping, and brilliantly executed with wonderful characters, terrifying creatures of nightmare, and with a moral just as applicable to today’s society as it would have been one of old.

A solid 5 stars! I will definitely be looking into this series in the near future.

Book Review: Blood of Vengeance

⚔️ Blood of Vengeance by Angel Haze

⚔️ My rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Here is a story that holds not only action, magic, and gladiators, but also emotion, family, and friendship.

Killien – or Killer as he is known in the arena – is a slaved condemned to a lifetime of fighting as a gladiator. Suffering from crimes in his past, he has to endure a life in the darkest imaginable place; and this is not only in a literal sense, but also refers to his mental state and the steady decline he experiences due to the horrors of his everyday life.

A dark story of endurance, will-power and revenge, this book has some badass fighting scenes, emotional sequences of heart and soul, as well as dark undertones which creates a heavy and gritty the atmosphere to emphasize the harsh life the gladiators live.

My only complaints were some plot-related oddities and typos that I found jarring, hence the 4 stars instead of 5.

Nonetheless, this is a fast-paced and exciting book, and it’s a real page-turner. It is entertaining from beginning to end, and it sets the groundworks to an intriguing world and upcoming series.

« Older posts

© 2020 Catrin Russell

Theme by Anders NorénUp ↑

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.